Voor Sian Siran

Screenshot by: FrejaFray

“From high atop the Sea of Clouds, I looked out upon the realm in all her glory. There I saw a sight that will be sung of for as long as songs are sung – A spring formed from moisture in the atmosphere accumulated and solidified by the power of water crystals. It is said that the knight who first discovered these ethereal waters shared the story with a wandering minstrel, who declared it to be the legendary paradise of Voor Sian Siran. However, this claim has been met with some skepticism, given the minstrel’s penchant for embellishment.”

-Sightseeing Log

To me, there is nothing quite as stunning as when are you are sitting upon a high peak and able to gaze out across the lands as they stretch out before you. In a way, it is humbling. Sometimes, in a world of strife, we become so focused on ourselves, our missions, our purpose…and so, to see how small we truly are and how much we have yet to see and discover, it’s a step back to reflect, and it makes one feel so tiny, but in a good way.

Evermore I find myself prattling on about all the memories I have of these places. As I stare out at the majestic pools of water, I can recount the days spent gathering water crystals for the Vanu, or just relaxing in those pools, cooling off after a day of digging for grub, or dancing to appease the greater spirits of these places. I point out spots where there were suspicious patrols, or where I overheard a funny conversation between a couple of knights who thought they were alone.

Before I realize it, the sun has one again started to set as we wander and here I was, chatting off my wife’s horn about all the adventures, big and small, all taking place on these isles that stretch across the sky. And yet…they are but a tiny fraction of our world. If I tried…how many more adventures could I talk about? How many more evenings could we chat away about the things we had done, the people we had met, and the sights we had seen along the way? How many hours could be spent just…talking about a singular place? Again, it’s one of those things were you think about…time. You think about how much of it is spent with certain blinders on because you’re only focused on a mere moment. But, when there comes a time for rest and reflection, suddenly all these other details come rushing back, things you had almost forgotten before.

Things that seem like they were so insignificant have now become fun and funny tales…interesting stories that raise eyebrows and bring lips to curl into smiles. Ah but, I forget myself…we are talking about Voor Sian Siran.

Paradise…
Yes, I find that to be a fitting word. With its crystalline pools bathed in light the color of hot embers…the way the isles float across these heavens by magic very few of us can truly comprehend…
Some may see it as a Paradise. Flourishing…verdant…a land of crisp and cool waters, and clean air; rich soil and an abundance of animals ripe for the hunt. A land laying somewhere between our world and the very heavens that man tries often to reach for. A land of legends of massive creatures that swim through the very air as if it were the ocean and of mysterious arks that disappear within the blink of an eye. Mysterious…beautiful…plentiful. I now long to see what other places have been marked as a ‘paradise’ and how they might compare to the scene which sprawls out before me. Good thing we have much of this sightseeing log to cover yet.

Screenshots by: FrejaFray

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star